Day 10: Ray Scales (The Rev)

Note A Day

Ray Scales, back in the day when everyone knew him as the best television camera man in Arkansas. Ray Scales, back in the day when everyone knew him as the best television camera man in Arkansas.

(Note: I first met Ray Scales in 1988 when I was a cub newspaper reporter and he was the lead camera person for the local television station. A few years later he followed a calling to ministry and still pastors at New Mt. Zion Baptist Church. Each year, he serves as chair of our local Martin Luther King Day Parade.)

Dear Rev:

If I could assemble a roomful of people to solve the world’s most challenging problems, I’d want you in that room. Truth is,  you’d have a seat on the front row. In fact, yesterday I took a few moments to think about some of the wisest, most experienced people I know, and you were high on the list.

I remember the conversations we’d have during trial breaks at the courthouse…

View original post 387 more words

