The Truth About Training

Great read about preparing!

Pilgrim Strong

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 6.11.32 AM

“So, I must be taken as I have been made. The success is not mine, the failure is not mine, but the two together make me.”  ~ Charles Dickens

Just about every worthwhile thing I’ve pursued involved some training.

It’s the least enjoyable aspect of any pursuit, and I’ve often wondered when I’ll find an interest that doesn’t involve some uncomfortable regimens. It takes intention to get spirit, body and mind on the same page. And it’s been the case whether I was training for a marathon, pursing an eduction, building a business, or making pilgrimage across a country.

These are some training elements I’ve learned through personal experience:

  • Most importantly by far, you have to know what it is you’re training for. That sounds simple enough. Ten years ago when I trained for my first marathon, the goal of running 26 miles in four hours and thirty minutes was…

View original post 859 more words

