The Truth About Two Kinds of Wilderness

Pilgrim Strong

I loved the wilderness as a kid. May be even more drawn to it as an adult.

My father’s love for duck hunting ensured I spent my fair share of time in the duck

My dad, David Watkins, doing what he loved so much. Duck hunting on the St. Francis River. I must have seen him strike this pose a thousand times. My dad, David Watkins, doing what he loved so much. Duck hunting on the St. Francis River. I must have seen him strike this pose a thousand times.

woods. Each cold, dark morning as we’d make the 15-minute boat trip to the duck blind I’d always imagine Curt Gowdy’s voice in the back of my mind as if we were the featured adventure on American Sportsman. Every moment on that river thrilled me.

Other days I enjoyed building stick houses at a small pecan grove near our home. I could take refuge there protecting our homestead from the mammoth creatures that would surely would make their way down County Road 513. Settling into those stick shelters was…

View original post 878 more words

