9 weeks in Puerto Cayo, Ecuador

rose, roses, Ecuador Roses, landscaping

this was my pick, I loved the two tone color…it’s doing pretty well adjusting to it’s new home…I’m so glad.

I have driven our 5 speed rental to town at least 2 times now on my own. I have not ventured out of Puerto Cayo, but feeling more confident to run to town and pick up vegetables or go to the cyber to print paperwork etc.

Our bug invasion has ceased, practically although we did spot an unwelcome visitor last night.

scorpion, Ecuador,

A late night visitor in Casa Azul. Many thanks to my hero and mate: Steven W. Watkins for the capture and disposal of this creature.

We haven’t “officially” met a lot more of the local people, but they are beginning to know us.

The vendor we buy a few vegetables from who is not always smiling, put us in front of a few other gringos who couldn’t make up their mind about bug spray yesterday.  Maybe we should look into that as well.

We were exchanging out empty water jugs for new ones and had already turned our empties into the “inspector” i.e. grandpa. The lady, or grandmother was having a snack with the babies and the young girl was helping the other gringos.

Waiting patiently as loyal customers, a few minutes passed and she told the other young girl what we were waiting on, which was just to pay our $3 for our two 5 gallon waters and then we would be on our way. The young girl waited on us, we each humped our 5 gallon jug over our shoulder and we were headed out.

drinking water, Ecuador, recycle

Our weekly workout, lugging 5 gallon drinking water jugs from store to car, to house.

We usually go thru our 2 bottles every week to 10   days, I believe. We use it to make our coffee, drink, and most any cooking, including using to make our rice in the handy rice cooker.

Our shower, toilet, dish-washing and clothes-washing water is stored in a cistern buried in the ground. At first we were going thru one of those tanks about every week. It costs us $20.00 to have the water truck come out and fill our cistern up. We estimate it holds about 2000 gallons.

When we first planted our palms, shrubs and    plants, it was quite warm with little to no rain. At that time we sparingly watered to help the landscaping flourish.

Since then, we have had steady rains up until about the last 3 weeks and it has slowed down quite a bit. From raining every day to raining maybe once or twice a week. Steve captures the rain water in buckets to help conserve and waters the plants  with it. He is still watering about every 3 days. Plants all look good, I am just anxious for them to grow faster!  We are getting better at conserving our water and have made it this time for two weeks!!

Our weed-less garden, thanks to our gardener who works with a stick and a machete…he does amazing things.

plants, landscaping, Ecuador, garden

Many thanks to our wonderful gardener, he cuts the weeds from knee-high to dirt with his bare hands, a stick and a machete. Here’s to you!

plantain, Ecuador, gardening, Landscaping

Plantain tree given to us by a local Ecuadorian lady, it’s blooming very nicely, just not as we suspected, the root bulb is inverted. We suppose it’s normal?

 The big festivals are done for a while, until Easter time, which will be challenging since we will be filming with a T.V. crew the weekend prior to Easter. We did happen upon one young man who was feeling festive about 9 a.m. the other morning. We pulled in to get gas, which we pay a whopping $1.48/gallon for and they ALWAYS pump it for us. We were out early this particular morning, headed to get fresh vegetables. We pulled in on a Wednesday morning around 9 a.m. and the music was BLARRING!! It was nice and festive, and we actually enjoyed it. Just seemed a little odd because not many creatures were stirring, out and about at that time.

Ecuador traffic signs, danger ahead, caution

Your opinion, is the writing in red our new address or a caution sign for traffickers?

I once thought this was our new address, but the longer I think about it and see similar graffiti, I am convinced it is a caution sign. The caution, or slow tape that dangles from our tree was added just prior to carnival, and there is another graffiti and tape a few yard from this one. We live right before a very sharp curve and before these “caution signs” were hung we heard at least one or two crashes a week where cars had crashed into the ravine…I guess someone took action!

There is always so much more to tell, but I will save it for another day. The
last photo I’m posting today took me several weeks to finish, not because of the difficulty of the task, but due to procrastination. There were quite a few spare tiles left from our house construction and I had always wanted to make a mosaic, so with supplies in hand and time to spare, I began. It was so much fun crushing the tiles with a hammer. I think Steve even smashed a few for me. I found a bag of mortar or something like grout, and it was gray. As you can see, I used it first. It was a hot sunny day when I began my task, I think it was a Sunday. By the end of the day and 3/4 thru the project I was beat. Kneeling, sitting on my bottom on the concrete, sweating and swatting at bugs, I was done. It sat on our front porch for about maybe 3 to 4 more weeks and one day I decided to conquer it. I found more grout, only it turned out to be white…I spaced my tiles further out to fill in the gaps. But, at long last my masterpiece was complete! I am hoping I can find some gray paint or coloring to somehow make it more appealing to the eye. Then again, if I leave it as is, it’s much more Ecuadorian. We plan to hang it near our entry gate. It’s quite heavy and Steve said it’s “as fragile as glass.” Maybe by the time you all come for a visit it will be hanging. After all, it is our address: Casa Azul, Puerto Cayo, Ecuador.

Mosaic, craft, Ecuador, Puerto Cayo, masterpiece

My project: imperfect but perfectly finished.

